Saint Xavier University Core Values

Mission Day

Award for Faculty Service

The Saint Xavier University Award recognizes a faculty member who, through teaching, scholarship, and service has furthered the mission of Saint Xavier University both within SXU and to the larger academic, civic and religious communities and who has consistently embodied the University's Catholic and Mercy identity by "serving wisely and compassionately in support of human dignity and the common good." The award will be presented on Mission Day on Wednesday, March 21, 2018, at 3:30 p.m. in the Butler Reception Room.


Candidates must be full-time, or portion of full-time faculty members at Saint Xavier University.


Who May Nominate

Nominations are encouraged from faculty peers, staff and students. Potential candidates may nominate themselves.


Previous Recipients

2017 Gina Rossetti, Ph.D.   1998 Julie McNellis, Ph.D.
2016 Karen Wood, Ph.D.   1997 Joan L. Klein, R.N., M.S.
2015 Kathleen McInerney, Ph.D.   1996 Avis Clendenen, D.Min., Ph.D.
2014 Arunas Dagys, D.A.   1995 Nancy Goodfellow, M.S.
2013 Peter Hilton, Ph.D.   1994 Sister M. Dominic Merwick, R.S.M., M.A.
2012 William Kresse, J.D.   1993 JoAnn Gruca, R.N., Ph.D.
2011 Judith Hiltner, Ph.D.   1992 Mary Lederer Roby, Ph.D.
2010 Michael O'Keeffe, Ph.D.   1991 Sister Marion Johnson, R.S.M., M.S.
2008-2009 Margaret Bogacz, D.A.   1990 Darlene O'Callaghan, R.N., M.S.N.
2007 Michael Flahive, Ph.D.   1989 Margaret K. Carroll, Ed.D.
2006 Jan Bickel, D.M.A.   1988 Faisal Rahman, Ph.D.
2005 Eileen Quinn Knight, Ph.D.   1987 Joanne Fleming, M.S.
2004 Monzurul Hoque, Ph.D.   1986 Dorothy M. Binder, Ph.D.
2003 Sandra Burkhardt, Ph.D.   1985 Mary Lebold, R.N., Ed.D.
2002 Gail Harris-Schmidt, Ph.D.   1984 Sister M. Denis O'Grady, R.S.M., Ph.D.
2001 Dale Fast, Ph.D.   1983 Hassan Haddad, Ph.D.
2000 Angelo Bonadonna, Ph.D.   1982 Sister M. Antonine Ludden, R.S.M.
1999 Stanley Boyer, Ph.D.   1981 Lois Neville, M.A.