Saint Xavier University Students

Mission Day

Mother Paulita Morris, R.S.M. Student Mission Award

The Mother Paulita Morris, R.S.M., Student Mission Award recognizes a student whose exemplary service and leadership both at Saint Xavier and in other educational, civic, and religious communities, beyond SXU have embodied the university's core values and it's Catholic/Mercy mission in ways that contribute to making SXU a better place to study and learn. The award will be presented on Mission Day, Wednesday, March 21, 2018, at 3:30 p.m. in the Butler Reception Room.


Candidates must be currently enrolled Saint Xavier University students carrying a minimum of six credit hours.


Who May Nominate

Nominations are encouraged from fellow students, faculty members, staff members. Potential awardees may nominate themselves. Nominations must be submitted to the Office of Mission and Heritage, Mercy Ministry Center, Front Desk.

The deadline for student nominations is noon on Friday, February 2, 2018.


Further information, if needed, is available at 773-298-3440.

Note: The award recipient will receive a small honorarium. And though demonstrated financial need is not a requirement for this award, in accordance with federal government regulations, if a recipient qualified for and accepts Perkins Loan, Stafford Loan, FWS or SEOG funds, the University reserves the right to adjust the recipient's financial aid in order for the total amount of aid to not exceed the amount of demonstrated need.

Previous Recipients

2017 Rachel Weis   2000 Paul Bear
2016 Kathy Rodriguez   1999 Chris Barry and
Ashraf Rabah
2015 Megan Lavelle   1998 Dominic Petruzzelli
2014 Jessica Muñoz   1997 Julie Anne Wogan
2013 Kelly Mihalik   1996 Elizabeth Moore
2012 Joseph Roccasalva   1995 Bruce Good Hunter, Jr.
2011 Aarika Zarnick   1994 David Nance


Mark Piper   1993 Caroline Cherian
2008-2009 Jennifer Betcher   1992 Marie Kole
2007 Joana Beituni   1991 Amanda AlHamad
2006 Adeeb F. Odeh   1990 Margaret Rose McDonnell
2005 James Bruton and
Laura Le Compte
  1989 Dannette Erickson
2004 Sean Gross   1988 Mary Carol Bond
2003 Jenifer Huestis   1987 Clare Gallagher
2002 Lee Ann Steinfeldt   1986 Regina M. Pence
2001 Amber Stevens   1985 RoseMarie A. Gould