Saint Xavier University Chicago Campus

Office of Records and Advising

Academic Calendar

Fall 2017

Fall Semester (2017F)
August 1 - October 15 Petition via Self-Service on mySXU for Spring 2018 Graduation
August 16 New Faculty Orientation
August 18 Faculty Convocation, 11:30 a.m.
August 18 New Student Induction and Medallion Ceremony
August 21 Fall Semester Begins
September 4 Labor Day: No Classes
September 11 Final day to change a class from audit to credit
September 27 Spirit of Mercy Day Celebrated (Noon classes canceled)
September 29 - October 1 Homecoming
October 15 Deadline to file for Spring 2018 Graduation
October 18 Final Day to change a class from credit to audit or pass/fail
October 18-November 2 Registration for Spring 2018 classes for currently enrolled students
October 24 Faculty Development Day - Classes canceled between 8 a.m. and 4 p.m.
October 30 Incomplete grades due from Spring 2017 semester and Summer 2017 term
November 3 Registration begins for May Term 2018 and Summer Term 2018 for currently enrolled students
November 22-26 Thanksgiving Holiday
December 4-8 Final Examinations

The dates above generally refer to full semester dates. Condensed session dates may be different. Contact Records and Advising for more information.

For more information regarding refund and withdrawal dates, please go to the Withdrawal and Tuition Refunds page.

Spring 2018

Spring Semester (2018S)
January 1 - March 15 Petition via Self-Service on mySXU for Summer 2018 and Winter 2018 Graduation
January 8 Spring Semester Begins
January 15 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Holiday: no classes
January 29 Final day to change a class from audit to credit
March 5 - 11 Spring Break
March 7 Final Day to change a class from credit to audit or pass/fail
March 15 Deadline to file for Summer 2018 and Winter 2018 Graduation
March 14 - 29 Registration for Fall 2018 classes for currently enrolled students
March 19 Incomplete grades due from Fall 2017 semester
March 20 Grad Fest 10 a.m. to 8 p.m.
March 21 Mission Heritage Day
March 29 - April 1 Easter Holiday
April 30 - May 5 Final Examinations
May 4 - 5 Annual Commencement Ceremonies

The dates above generally refer to full semester dates. Condensed session dates may be different. Contact Records and Advising for more information.

For more information regarding refund and withdrawal dates, please go to the Withdrawal and Tuition Refunds page.

Summer 2018

Summer Semester (2018U)
May 7 - 26 May Term
May 7 - August 11 Summer Terms
May 28 Memorial Day observed: no classes
July 4 Independence Day: no classes
TBD by Instructor Final examinations for Summer

For more information regarding refund and withdrawal dates, please go to the Withdrawal and Tuition Refunds page.

Continuing Education/Degree Completion 2017-2018

FALL    
Monday August 21, 2017 Fall I Term begins
Monday September 4, 2017 Labor Day*
Saturday October 14, 2017 Fall I Term ends
     
Monday October 16, 2017 Fall II Term begins
Wednesday-Saturday November 22-25, 2017 Thanksgiving Holiday*
Saturday December 9, 2017 Fall II Terms ends
     
SPRING    
Monday January 8, 2018 Spring I Term begins
Monday January 15, 2018 Martin Luther King Jr. Day*
Saturday March 3, 2018 Spring I Term ends
     
Monday-Saturday March 5-10, 2018 Spring Break
Monday March 12, 2018 Spring II Term begins
Wednesday-Saturday March 28-31, 2018 Easter Break*
Saturday May 5, 2018 Spring II Term ends
     
SUMMER    
Monday May 14, 2018 Summer I Term begins
Monday May 28, 2018 Memorial Day*
Saturday June 23, 2018 Summer I Term ends
     
Monday July 2, 2018 Summer II Term begins
Wednesday July 4, 2018 Independence Day*
Saturday August 12, 2017 Summer II Term ends
     

*University Holidays – No class meeting on these dates.                                                         (February 28, 2017)

Fall 2017 Final Exam Schedule

  8 - 9:50 a.m. 10 - 11:50 a.m. 12 - 1:50 p.m. 2 - 3:50 p.m.
Monday, December 4 Classes which meet 8 a.m. M-W-F Classes which meet 11 a.m. M-W-F Math 135

Classes which meet 2 p.m. M-W-F

Tuesday, December 5 Classes which meet 8 a.m. T-Th Classes which meet 11 a.m. T-Th Math 121, 122
Math 131, 132, 222
Classes which meet 2 p.m. T-Th
Wednesday, December 6 Classes which meet 9 a.m. M-W-F Math 105, 112 Classes which meet 12 p.m. M-W-F Classes which meet 3 p.m. M-W-F
Thursday, December 7 Classes which meet 9:30 a.m. T-Th   Classes which meet 12:30 p.m. T-Th Classes which meet 3:30 - 4:50 p.m. T-TH
Friday, December 8   Classes which meet 10 a.m. M-W-F Classes which meet 1 p.m. M-W-F  

Spring 2018 Final Exam Schedule

  8 - 9:50 a.m. 10 - 11:50 a.m. 12 - 1:50 p.m. 2 - 3:50 p.m.
Monday, April 30 Classes which meet 8 a.m. M-W-F Classes which meet 11 a.m. M-W-F Math 135 Classes which meet 2 p.m. M-W-F
Tuesday, May 1 Classes which meet 8 a.m. T-Th Classes which meet 11 a.m. T-Th Math 121, 122
Math 131, 132, 222
Classes which meet 2 p.m. T-Th
Wednesday, May 2 Classes which meet 9 a.m. M-W-F Math 105, 112 Classes which meet 12 p.m. M-W-F Classes which meet 3 p.m. M-W-F
Thursday, May 3 Classes which meet 9:30 a.m. T-Th   Classes which meet 12:30 p.m. T-Th Classes which meet 3:30 - 4:50 p.m. T-TH
Friday, May 4   Classes which meet 10 a.m. M-W-F Classes which meet 1 p.m. M-W-F