Saint Xavier University Students

University-Wide Scholarships

University-Wide Scholarships

Saint Xavier offers a wide range of scholarships available to students University-wide and to students who fall into certain parameters like a specific major or academic year. There are a variety of other scholarships are also offered outside of Saint Xavier, which we call outside scholarships, that you may be eligible to receive based on the establishment's requirements. For more information concerning these scholarships and their application details, please visit the scholarship directory.

Students are automatically considered for these scholarships by filling the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA).

Angelo Bonadonna Jr. Study Abroad Scholarship

Established in 2011 in memory of Angelo Bonadonna Jr., '08, by his family and friends, recipients of this scholarship are adventurous and curious students seeking to know the world and themselves through study abroad experiences.

John T. and Elizabeth Downs Cartan Scholarship

This award is need-based and consideration will be given to a student from the Republic of Ireland, preferably from a Mercy secondary school in Trim, County Meath or Scoil Mhuire. In the event that there are not any Irish student applicants, then this scholarship will be awarded to an American student of Irish descent from Cook County, IL. This scholarship was established through the generosity of Mrs. Mary Cartan Hendry, '67.

Class of 2010 Book Scholarship

Through the collective generosity of the Class of 2010, the Class of 2010 Book Scholarship will help incoming first-year students pay for textbooks and other course materials. James and Patricia Morris, Ph.D., '83, matched all contributions to this fund from graduating students. Applications are available during FOCUS.

Bernard and Jean Ann Downey Scholarship

Established through the generosity of Bernard and Jean Downey, this annual award provides assistance to students with high financial need.

Hassan (Husni) and Safia Haddad Peace Award

The Haddad Peace Award is created to nurture positive, creative and thoughtful approaches to timely issues, with an emphasis on peace and understanding. This award was established through the generosity of Dr. Safia Haddad.

IBEW/NECA Scholarship

The IBEW/NECA scholarship is an annual award to a son or daughter of a member of IBEW Local 134. Applicants must be currently enrolled in Saint Xavier or accepted for full-time undergraduate status with a minimum GPA of 3.0. A 1,000-word essay must be submitted with two letters of recommendation. This scholarship was established through the generosity of IBEW Local 134. 

Valeria Krauspe Ministry Scholarship

Campus Ministry offers the Valeria Krauspe Ministry Scholarship to an undergraduate student who evidences substantive ministerial contributions to University life.

Mercy Scholarship Program

The Mercy Scholarship Program is for full-time undergraduate students entering their sophomore, junior, or senior year, who have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.0. Selected students will receive a scholarship, and are expected to educate themselves on one of the five Critical Concerns of the Sisters of Mercy, which include: earth, immigration, nonviolence, racism and women. Recipients will write reflections on their experiences, which will be read by a Sister of Mercy.

Thomas and Catherine Nessinger Scholarship

This award provides scholarship support for Saint Xavier students with high academic achievements and high financial need. It was established through the generosity of Mr. and Mrs. Tom Nessinger.

Sister Mary Denis O'Grady, R.S.M., '37 Scholarship

This award provides scholarship support for Saint Xavier students with high academic qualifications who demonstrate the outstanding loyalty and spirit of service that was characterized by Sister Denis O'Grady during her 50-plus years of service at Saint Xavier.

Sister Mary Josetta Butler Scholarship

The Sister Mary Josetta Butler Scholarship was established in 1990 by the Board of Trustees at the request of an anonymous donor. The Butler Scholarship is intended to reinforce and promote the ideals of Christian liberal education and is awarded to a student who gives evidence of progress toward the achievement of this ideal through the study of religion and theology integrated with studies in other fields of intellectual inquiry, and who shows promise of making that education fruitful in a career of service.

Brian and Sue Shannon Scholarship

Preference for this award will be given to graduates of Marist High School or Mother McAuley High School. This scholarship was established through the generosity of Mrs. Sue Shannon.

University Merit Awards

The University offers both part-time and full-time scholarships based on prior academic credentials and are awarded by the Office of Admission upon acceptance to the University.