Saint Xavier University Chicago Campus Residence Halls

University History

Saint Xavier University is a comprehensive, coeducational, Catholic institution sponsored by the Sisters of Mercy of the Americas through the Conference for Mercy Higher Education. Founded by the Sisters of Mercy in 1846 and chartered in 1847, Saint Xavier's historic roots make it Chicago's oldest college and one of the first institutions of higher learning in Illinois. Founded as Saint Francis Xavier Academy for Females, Saint Xavier inaugurated college classes in 1915, became co-educational in 1969 and gained the status of a university in 1992. Now, the University serves a diverse population of 4,000 students and offers 44 undergraduate degree programs and nearly 26 graduate degree program options.